DIY – Rag Wreath & Lasagna Cupcakes

A few Friday’s ago, I posted a wreath I really wanted to make.

Last week, I finally made it!

What you’ll need – if you want to make what you see…
Fabric
Scissors
Wire clothes hanger (bent into a circle)
Cardboard letter
Yarn
Hot glue gun

I got my fabric at Walmart.  I had every intention of getting the scrap fabric, but couldn’t find the colors I wanted.  I didn’t have time to go to any other store, so I settled with pre-cut fabric, in a pattern and colors that I liked.  It had 8 pieces for a total of 2 yards – and I had more than enough fabric.  I only used 6 of the 8 pieces, and I have a bunch leftover, I could probably make another wreath!

You’ll need to cut (or tear) your fabric into about 1-inch wide strips.  Then make them about 6-7 inches long.  It’s not an exact science here.  Just do whatever you’d like.  I just took my 1inch wide strips, folded them in half and cut, then folded them in half again and cut.  It worked for me.
Then you just tie the fabric around the wire hanger.  I found that I liked it best when you couldn’t see the back of the fabric in the knot – so I bent the fabric while tying the knot.

 Again, do it however you’d like it to be.  Try different things to see what you like best.  I had about 20 pieces on before I realized I didn’t like how it was going, so I took them all off.  I would suggest to figure out what you like before you have 20 on… it’s a pain un-knotting them all!

I kept pushing my pieces tighter together, so I’d have a fuller wreath.  You could leave them loose if you’d like.  Again, totally up to what you want!

 Warning!!! You may get blisters doing this project!  Or I just make my knot too tight… I don’t know.  All I know is that as I type this up – I still have blisters on both my middle fingers, from pulling the knot tight.  Ouch.

You could leave your wreath as is – or take it one step further and add a letter (or a greeting). 

I just printed off a letter (measuring the size to fit in the middle of the wreath).  I traced the letter on some cardboard and cut it out.

Then took some yarn and wrapped it around the letter, hot gluing it in place.

I also hot glued a piece of different colored yarn around the letter.  I just felt I wanted something that popped more.

It was a pain in the butt.  If I ever did it again, I would leave the boarder yarn off!

I took another piece of the yarn, hot glued it on the back of the letter to hang.  I just put it over the hook of the wire hanger – and it hung nicely.  Plus, now I can change out the letter if I want.  Or use the letter on something else, since it’s not attached to the wreath. 

I love it!  I really wish I had different fabric for a more autumn feel – since this really reminds me of Halloween – and since Halloween is over, I kind of feel I need to take it down!
But I won’t.  I have a Christmas wreath idea in mind – just waiting until after Thanksgiving to put that up.

I also want to share with you something delicious I made last week!  I made Lasagna Cupcakes!

I found the idea from The Girl Who Ate Everything (love her site!)

Very simple to make – ingredient list is super short – and really, you could make whatever lasagna filling you like and layer it in! I also used the large muffin pan I have, so I’d have big lasagna cupcakes!  Delicious!

Lasagna Cupcakes (slightly adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything)
Ingredients
1 cup marinara sauce
3/4 pound ground turkey
12 egg roll wrappers
8 oz shredded mozzarella
3 oz Parmesan cheese
4 oz cottage cheese
Mozzarella and Parmesan cheese for topping
Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray muffin tin with cooking spray (I didn’t, but mine didn’t need it)
Cook turkey & season with salt and pepper.
Mix together cheeses.
Press one egg roll wrapper into bottom of each muffin tin.  Add about 1 tbsp each of the cheese mixture, turkey and marinara sauce.  Repeat layers – egg roll wrapper, cheese mixture, turkey and marinara sauce.  
*I had a lot of wrapper hanging over, so I folded it over, on top of the cupcake.*  
Then top with mozzarella and Parmesan cheese.  
Bake for 18-20 minutes or until edges are brown.  Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  To remove use a knife to loosen the edges then pop each lasagna out. 

I loved this!  So good!  And you can play around with the filling!  If you don’t eat meat, you can add spinach or other veggies – whatever you love in typical lasagna!  I loved the egg roll wrapper.  At first I thought it was going to be crunch, like egg rolls are, but that wasn’t the case at all!  The top edges were crunchy, but the rest was nice and chewy – kind of like noodles!  Yum!!  

Make this…tonight!  I promise you will not be disappointed! 
What are you having for dinner?  
Leave a Reply

