is it chili out?!

Last night I made a nice pot of chili. 
Oh.my.goodness!
It was so good!! 
I haven’t had chili since I lived with my parents…. so… years! 
I really don’t like beans – but that is all most chilies seem to consist of. 
That was until I figured out.. “Hey, I’m cooking it myself, I can put what I want in it!”
Woohoo, go me! 
It helps that hubby doesn’t like most beans (aside from baked beans).

I’ve seen this recipe on Iowa Girl Eats so much that I figured I should give it a try.

Oddly enough, this is perfect to use up your leftover Thanksgiving turkey!  We had some left in the fridge, and I decided instead of getting the ground turkey out of the freezer, I should use up the leftover turkey.  It worked out wonderfully!  It also really cut down on the cooking time.  I just diced up the turkey, and added it in after I cooked the onions a little.  Just to warm it up and add some color to it.  It was so simple, and everything came together in probably 20 minutes! 

Sweet and Spicy Chili
Original recipe from Iowa Girl Eats (adapted slightly)

Ingredients 

 1/2 small onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb ground turkey
Salt and pepper
29oz can tomato sauce
16oz can baked Bush’s Vegetarian Baked Beans
Chili powder
Cayenne pepper
Onion powder
Garlic powder
Cumin

Directions
Heat a large soup pot over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic and ground turkey to the pot, season with salt & pepper, then cook, breaking up the turkey, until no longer pink.

Turn the heat down to medium low and add in tomato sauce and baked beans. Season with chili powder and cayenne pepper to your taste, then add in dashes of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin.

Let the chili simmer for 5-10 minutes, then taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Served with a side of cornbread – and you have a delicious meal!

Definitely a recipe that will be on rotation in our household.

Oh and that chicken and rice soup I made the other day… Hubby is still raving about it!!  YES!!!

On a different note, Christmas came early in our household!!!!
This is what I woke up to this morning.

Oh, how I love my husband!!
I had finished The Hunger Games the other morning and all day yesterday, I was almost pulling my hair out wanting to read the other two! 
Hubby called after he was done with work, we discussed our budget – and the fact that I had $50 from helping my cousin with her ad book – so it was a done deal – I was going to get the books! 
Unfortunately, the Walmart hubby was at, only had the first book.  UGH!!!! 
So, bless his heart, he drove out of his way, to the other Walmart – and searched the book section – coming up with the first and the third books, but not the second. 
Apparently more looking and he succeeded!!  By the time he got home, I was sleeping – so it was a nice surprise to see these sitting under the tree this morning!

I promised myself that I would not open the book and start reading until after I got a workout in today.  I popped in 30 Day Shred, and pumped it out!

This is what I did while baby girl napped today…. And this is how I will be, right after I post this! 

Have a wonderful night!

2 thoughts on “is it chili out?!

  1. Yay for new books. You have your tree up too. I need to get rolling on that otherwise it will be like last year when I put it up the week before Christmas and it stayed up until Valentine's Day. Whoops 🙂

Leave a Reply

