Bourbon Street Chicken

When I was in college, I worked at the mall.  Now the city where I went to college was quite small.  So this mall was nothing to brag about.  But, it was still a mall.  The food court consisted of a McDonalds, Orange Julius Auntie Annes Pretzels and a Mongolian BBQ. 
I will say that I ate at the McDonalds, the Orange Julius and Auntie Annes a time or two while I worked at the mall.  Mostly it was if I was running late and hadn’t had dinner.  Though, I had a hard time staying away from the pretzels… so delicious!
I had never had the Mongolian BBQ – though it smelled amazing every time I walked past it.

One day, during the summer, I stopped by where a friend of mine worked.  He couldn’t leave for lunch but really wanted the Bourbon Chicken from the Mongolian BBQ joint.  I offered to drive to the mall and pick some up for him.  He handed me over cash, requested two bourbon chickens and told me I could get something for myself too, if I wanted to. 
I got to the mall, ordered the two for him and nothing for myself.  The smell was so intoxicating that I was second guessing my decision to not get one. 
Once I got in my car, the only thing I could smell was the bourbon chicken.  I knew I had to try some.  I opened the top box and picked out a small piece of chicken, and savored it. 
It.was.amazing. 
How did I never order this before?! 
I ate a few more pieces, before remembering this wasn’t my meal… and I couldn’t eat all the chicken! 

I haven’t really thought of making the chicken at home.  I knew nothing could compete with that place.  I tried it at a buffet a few years back and… gross.  Nothing would ever come close to that beautiful joint.. which I don’t even think is in the mall anymore.

Well, today I was cruising around Pinterest, and I came across a recipe for Bourbon Street Chicken. 
It looked amazing.  It looked almost like the stuff that came from the mall. 
I knew I had to make it tonight. 
I scanned the ingredient list, I had most of the items, and what I didn’t, I could substitute with something close. 

The verdict?  AMAZING!.  Definitely in rotation at my house.

Bourbon Street Chicken

Slightly adapted from BigOven
 1 pound boneless chicken breasts; cut into bite-size pieces
1 tbsp olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 tsp ground ginger
3/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (more or less depending on your heat preference)
1/4 cup apple juice (I ended up using white grape, since that is what I had on hand)
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 tbsp ketchup
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup soy sauce
1 tbsp cornstarch (more or less depending on how thick you desire the sauce)
Directions
Heat oil in a large skillet
Add chicken pieces and cook until browned.
Remove chicken
Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl, then add to skillet, heating over medium heat.
Add chicken to sauce and bring to a hard boil.
Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
Serve over rice and enjoy! 
So very good.  Next time I think I’ll go a little less on the crushed red pepper flakes.  It was pretty spicy.  Now, I like spicy foods, however hubby doesn’t like overly spicy stuff.  This was on the verge of too much.  But still so tasty.

Go, make, enjoy!  

2 thoughts on “Bourbon Street Chicken

  1. Oh boy this looks perfect! I will have to try it! The stuff at the mall has some vegetables. I can't think if what it's called but that bag of stuff you put in stirfry.

  2. Stirfry vegetables… I'm pretty sure that is what it is actually called! I didn't remember the vegetables… but I will definitely have to add them next time!

Leave a Reply

