Rain, Rain, Go Away

Well, it’s December 14th (where the heck did the month go?!), and it is raining in Northeastern Wisconsin.  Now, I’m all for rain.  I love it normally… but seriously, on December 14?  Pretty sure you can turn to snow.  Snow that just sticks to the grass – not the roads.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to have heated roads?! 
I love snow in December – there is just something magical about it for me. 
But come January, I’ll be ready for it to leave.  Though I know it won’t leave until probably April.  Ugh, the joys of living in Wisconsin. 

Today, since it has been raining and dreary all day, I made a big ol’ pot of chili. 

Just like last time, but with ground turkey instead of leftover Thanksgiving turkey.  If you have leftover Thanksgiving turkey, you should probably toss it.  Just saying.

You know how I said yesterday, that the chances of me reading a really good book next, are slim.  Well, I was right.  I cracked open a book last night as I got into bed.  A book that has been on my reading list, and sitting on my bookshelf.  I had high hopes for it… but I’m disappointed.
However, I can’t seem to stop reading it.  It’s not horrible, but it isn’t the greatest read.  I still can’t seem to put it down and just walk away from it.  I just need to know how it ends.  Am I the only one who feels this way?!  Hubby asked me last night why I kept reading if I didn’t like it.  Mostly, because I just want to find out where the book goes.  I feel I’m already invested in it.  I’m more than halfway through… stopping now would just bug me.
Here is the book I’m reading.  How it became a #1 New York Times Bestseller, I will never know, considering on Goodreads, the reviews aren’t that great.

Source

With that, I’m going to leave you with one of the Bookfessions I told you about yesterday.

I cannot tell you how many times I have done this. 
Mostly it was when I lived at home still, and the library was within walking distance from my house.
On my way home from the library I would always have my face in a book.  I just couldn’t ever wait to start whatever I had checked out. 
I never tripped or stumbled or anything – and yes, I always looked for cars when I was passing a road.  I was still completely away of my surroundings.  But you have to remember, I grew up in a town with a population of a little over 800 (less at that time I lived there).  So cars were few and far between. 
I think there was even sometimes I would read while riding my bike.  Yeah… that was safe. 

Have a wonderful dreary Wednesday night!  I’m going to go choke down the rest of that book.

Leave a Reply

