Green Smoothie for Baby Girl

So the other day I made a green smoothie for breakfast.

Clearly, baby girl wanted some. 
She couldn’t have mine – since it had peanut butter and cows milk in it. 
But, I figured I could make some for her with just spinach, banana and water.

So, I mixed up a batch for her.   Gave some to hear right away, it was too thick for her to drink from a sippy, yet too runny to spoon feed her.  So I decided to pour it in an ice cube tray and freeze it.

Then I remembered seeing something at the store that I had wanted to pick up for her, but never did. 
It’s a fresh fruit mesh.  Where you put fresh fruit in, and babies can chew on the mesh part.  So you don’t have to worry about baby choking on pieces of fruit.  You can also put frozen fruit or ice cubes in there for baby to chew on, to help relieve their gum pain during teething.
Hubby picked one up after work the other night – and the next day we tried it out.

I cut the green smoothie ice cubes in half so they fit in the mesh.
Baby girl loves it! 

She would chew and chew and chew on it. 

Definitely think it helped soothe her gums.

And, like any baby enjoys, she got to make a big old mess! 

Oh, and the best part… she gets to eat some great fruit and veggies!

Today I mashed some of the cubes up – into a little icy. 

It melted very quickly, but baby girl seemed to enjoy it this way too.  The mesh is much better for her gums though.

This is the best way to start a morning off.

Sorry for the quality of the pictures.  They were taken with my phone.

One thought on “Green Smoothie for Baby Girl

  1. That's a great idea! We have one of those mesh things, but I tried it when Celia was 8months ish with a banana, and it took me about an hour to clean the banana goo out of it, so I never picked it up again. Guess I should have tried something other than banana…

Leave a Reply

