Chicken Pesto French Bread

Sorry I’ve been sucking at blogging this week.
I’ve just been tired.
Exhausted.
Sick.
Well, kind of sick.
Definitely trying to kick the cold before it becomes full blown.
Today I had enough motivation to attempt to eat well.

This was my lunch.

A tasty turkey sandwich on my favorite thing ever… Thin buns!  Yum yum.
With a side of carrots. 
I want you to know, that I wanted to have a side of chips.
I even grabbed the bag.
I figured, as long as I weighed the chips out – it would be fine.
But I knew if I had chips, I would want more and more and more.
So, I pulled out some carrots and decided to go that route.

Trust me… Today was hard.
I wanted chips all.the.time. 
I really hate having them in the house.
But I can’t make hubby not eat them. 
Well, I could, but he’s a grown man – and he makes his own decisions.

I did snack on some thin pretzels.  I weighed them out though, and didn’t go overboard. 

Now, I want to talk about dinner.
I saw it over at Jamie Cooks It Up! and knew I needed to try it.

Chicken Pesto French Bread
(Adapted from Jamie Cooks It Up!)

2 french bread rolls (cut in half)
2 chicken breasts
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder
Pesto
6 slices of provolone cheese

Cut chicken up into 1 inch pieces.  Heat oil in large skillet.  Add chicken and season with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder.  Cook chicken until no longer white on the inside.

While chicken is cooking – spread a spoonful of pesto on each french bread piece.
Set aside on baking sheet.

Once chicken is cooked – place on top of pesto covered bread. 

Cover with 1 1/2 slices of cheese. 

Bake at 400 degrees until cheese is bubbly and bread is heated through.  About 10 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

Oh yum yum yum!  I LOVE pesto. Probably my favorite food ever.  Pesto covered noodles is my favorite… but this is a pretty close second.  YUM! 

Go try it.  Super easy to through together, and honestly you could use any type of bread or a wrap or anything.  What about a chicken pesto pizza?!   Oh my… I may have to try that soon!

Oh and that cheese – I got the Sargento Ultra Thin Slices.  Only 40 calories per slice.  Pretty much amazing!

I’m off to catch up on some TV shows.  And read a little.  And guzzle some more water.

One thought on “Chicken Pesto French Bread

Leave a Reply

