Comfort Food

I’m not even sure it got to 65 degrees outside today.
It has been raining all day long (which we can completely use!!).
I am absolutely in love with this weather.
Maybe not the raining all day long – but the cool/fall type weather.

Yesterday I had a pumpkin spice candle burning all day long. 
It filled my apartment with the scent of Autumn.

Today, I have filled my apartment with the scent of apple pie.
Or… apple crisp, to be technical.
Not coming from a candle.

It is my very first attempt at cooking an apple pie. 
I know, I know, I’m 27 – and this is the first time I’ve cooked an apple pie.
Let’s just say, growing up, my family never made pies… So, I never had that urge to make them when I got out on my own.

But.. since I’ve married Chris – and go to his parents house, where his mom bakes apple pies all Autumn long, I’ve kind of got the urge to try my hand at it.
Plus, since having my own child – I really want her to grow up with traditions of baking in the Fall… and knowing how to bake an apple pie. 
I’m quite excited for Chris to get home from work and see the apple crisp. 

For dinner I made Lasagna Roll Ups.
I’ve made them before, but found a different recipe to try.
They were quite delicious.
My daughter, who has been ridiculously picky the last few weeks, ate her piece all up!

I’ve been trying to find recipe ideas to make for my bestie (yeah, I said bestie), who is due with her first child at the end of September. 
When I had Lilly, she came over 2 days after we got home from the hospital – and she brought along some soup.
I cannot tell you how delicious that was.  Not only was the soup amazing – but also because we had been eating either hospital food, or take-out for the prior 4 days! 
Then she came back a week later with her husband and brought lasagna. 
Again, more homemade food.  So very nice to have, especially after not getting any sleep with the baby – and not having the urge to cook in the kitchen.

So, I figured I’d return the favor when it was her turn. 
At her baby shower she said I didn’t have to bring her food when the baby was born… but I know how amazing it was to have a home cooked meal… And I planned to do the same for her!

Anyway – these lasagna rolls are amazing.  They have all the flavor of lasagna, wrapped up into individual pieces.  Love it! 
I definitely plan on making these for them.
And another batch with alfredo and chicken. 
And probably the apple crisp.
And maybe some chicken and rice soup.

I have to get all my Fall cooking out of my system before December!

Leave a Reply

